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ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-NINTH
SUPPLEMENTAL EMERGENCY DECLARATION -
AMENDED AND RESTATED QUARANTINE AND ISOLATION ORDER

WHEREAS, on March 9, 2020, Executive Order 20-02 was issued for a declaration
of a state of emergency due to the dangers to health and life posed by COVID-19 and that
Order has been extended to remain in effect until at least April 14, 2021;

WHEREAS, despite progress in some key areas, the State continues to suffer from
the effects of the pandemic;

WHEREAS, the State continues to impose quarantine restrictions on all persons
arriving in the State from locations with high community spread rates as defined by the
Rhode Island Department of Health (“RIDOH™) for non-work-related purposes and from
outside the 50 states or the District of Columbia;

WHEREAS, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (“CDC”) has stated
that COVID-19 symptoms may appear as many as fourteen (14) days after exposure;

WHEREAS, the Director of the CDC has confirmed that a significant number of
individuals infected with COVID-19 do not show symptoms;
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WHEREAS, COVID-19 is contagious and persons who are asymptomatic can
spread the virus; and

WHEREAS, the CDC has provided acceptable alternatives to shorten quarantine
based on local circumstances and resources.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, DANIEL J. MCKEE, by virtue of the authority vested in
me as Governor of the State of Rhode Island, pursuant to Article IX of the Rhode Island
Constitution and the Rhode Island General Laws, including, but not limited to, Title 30,
Chapter 15, and Title 23, Chapter 8, do hereby order and direct the following:

1. Any person who has been clinically diagnosed with COVID-19 by a licensed
health care practitioner by assessment of symptoms or by laboratory testing
must immediately self-isolate’ in accordance with RIDOH guidance:
https://health.ri.gov/publications/guidance/ COVID-19-Quarantine-and-
Isolation-Guidance-by-Population.pdf (“COVID-19 Quarantine and Isolation
Guidance by Population™).

2. Any person (a) who has been in known close contact (within 6 feet for more
than 15 minutes within a 24-hour period) with a person who has been clinically
diagnosed with COVID-19 by a licensed health care practitioner by assessment
of symptoms or by laboratory testing or (b) who has been contacted by RIDOH
to inform them that they were a close contact with a confirmed positive case
must self-monitor for symptoms of COVID-19 for 14 days following that
contact and immediately self-quarantine® for 10 days following the close
contact, unless one of the following exemptions applies:

a. the person (i) is not living in an assisted living facility or a nursing home and
(ii) obtains a negative COVID-19 test result from a specimen taken on day 5
or later following the last date of close contact (day 0) and self-quarantines
until day 7 or later following the close contact; or

! Isolation separates sick people with a contagious disease from people who are not sick.

2 Quarantine separates and restricts the movement of people who were exposed to a
contagious disease to see if they become sick.
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b. the person (i) is not living in an assisted living facility or a nursing home, (ii)
is not admitted to a hospital, (iii) has received the final dose of an approved
COVID-19 vaccination series or the only dose of an approved one-dose
COVID-19 vaccine at least 14 days prior to the last date of close contact,
and (iv) is asymptomatic; or

c. the person (i) was previously diagnosed with COVID-19, (ii) had COVID-19
symptoms, the onset of which occurred no more than 90 days prior to the
last date of close contact, (iii) completed the isolation requirement in
accordance with this Order, and (iv) is asymptomatic; or

d. the person (i) was tested positive for COVID-19 from a specimen taken no
more than 90 days prior to the last date of close contact, (ii) had no COVID-
19 symptom previously, (iii) completed the isolation requirement in
accordance with this Order, and (iv) is asymptomatic.

3. Any person living in a congregate care setting (a) who has been in known close

contact (within 6 feet for more than 15 minutes within a 24-hour period) with a
person who has been clinically diagnosed with COVID-19 by a licensed health
care practitioner by assessment of symptoms or by laboratory testing or (b) who
has been contacted by RIDOH to inform them that they were a close contact
with a confirmed positive case must self-monitor for symptoms of COVID-19
and immediately self-quarantine for 14 days following that contact.

. The self-quarantine restriction described in paragraph 2 of this Order shall not

apply to the following categories of workers while they are at work or traveling
to or from work: staff at healthcare facilities, nursing home facilities, assisted
living facilities, public health sector, public safety sector, social service
providers, election work, homeless shelters, group homes, correctional facilities,
and detention centers provided that these workers follow RIDOH guidance for
COVID-19 Quarantine and Isolation Guidance by Population. When not at
work, these categories of workers must self-quarantine in accordance with
paragraph 2 of this Order.

. Instructions for self-isolation and self-quarantine and a description of COVID-

19 symptoms can be found at the RIDOH website:
https://health.ri.gov/diseases/ncov2019/
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6.

I hereby authorize and direct the Director of RIDOH to take any action and
make and enforce any rules and regulations necessary to implement this Order.

7. The Director of RIDOH is further authorized to assess civil penalties, and enact

rules and regulations in furtherance of such penalties, for violation of this
Executive Order. Such civil penalties shall be in addition to any other penalties
authorized by law.

This Order supersedes Executive Order 21-17. It shall take effect immediately and
shall remain in full force and effect until April 17, 2021 unless renewed, modified or
terminated by a subsequent Executive Order.

So Ordered:

WA

Daniel J. McKe

Governor



