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February 5, 2021

ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTEENTH SUPPLEMENTAL EMERGENCY DECLARATION —
FURTHER REVISED PROTECTING YOUR HOUSEHOLD ORDER

WHEREAS, on March 9, 2020, I declared a state of emergency due to the dangers
to health and life posed by COVID-19 and such declaration has been extended until at
least February 17, 2021;

WHEREAS, despite progress in some key areas, the State continues to suffer from
the health and economic effects of the pandemic;

WHEREAS, it is critical that Rhode Island’s economic, cultural and civic life be re-
opened to the greatest extent possible consistent with public health and that the public’s
health shall always be of paramount concern in connection with such re-opening;

WHEREAS, Rhode Islanders must make every effort to assess and mitigate their
individual risk of contracting COVID-19. I urge the public to keep exposure well below
the caps set forth in this Executive Order; the lower the attendance and gathering size, the
lower the risk;

WHEREAS, despite the best efforts of public health officials, the incidence of
COVID-19 is surging in the country, regionally and in Rhode Island; and a new, more
contagious, strain of the virus has been identified within the region;
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WHEREAS, continued aggressive efforts are necessary to slow the spread of
COVID-19 and to lessen the strain on our healthcare system;

WHEREAS, such immediate measures are also necessary to maintain in-person
learning for Rhode Island students;

WHEREAS, targeted, time-limited measures imposed now can make a difference in
Rhode Island’s COVID-19 infection rate, reducing the numbers of Rhode Islanders who
are hospitalized or die due to the virus; and

WHEREAS, in consultation with the Director of RIDOH, I sought modified
mitigation measures to continue maintaining public health and safety with appropriate,
less restrictive means.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GINA M. RAIMONDO, by virtue of the authority vested
in me as Governor of the State of Rhode Island, pursuant to Article IX of the Rhode Island

Constitution and the Rhode Island General Laws, including, but not limited to, Title 30,
Chapter 15, and Title 23, Chapter 8 do hereby order as follows:

Vulnerable Populations Strongly Advised to Remain Home

1. All vulnerable populations identified by the Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention (CDC), which include those who are 65 years of age and older, are still
strongly advised to stay at home unless they must go to work, travel for medical
treatment or obtain other necessities such as groceries, gas or medication. The
CDC identifies conditions that make people at higher risk for severe illness from
COVID-19 at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-
precautions/people-at-higher-risk.html.

International Travel Restrictions Remain in Place

2. Any person arriving from a location outside the 50 states or the District of
Columbia must immediately self-quarantine for 10 days upon arrival in
Rhode Island unless and until that person obtains a negative COVID-19 test
result from a specimen taken on day S or later upon arrival in Rhode Island
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3.

(day 0) and self-quarantines until day 7 or later upon arrival in Rhode Island
(day 0).

Any person who has travelled outside the 50 states or the District of Columbia in
the last 10 days must immediately self-quarantine for the remainder of the 10-day
period upon arrival in Rhode Island unless and until that person obtains a negative
COVID-19 test result from a specimen taken on day S or later upon arrival in
Rhode Island (day 0) and self-quarantines until day 7 or later upon arrival in Rhode
Island (day 0).

Instructions for self-quarantine can be found at RIDOH’s website:
https://covid.ri.gov/covid-19-prevention/quarantine-and-isolation.

Domestic Travel Restrictions from Areas with High Community Spread Rates

Any person coming to Rhode Island for a non-work-related purpose from locations
with a high community spread rate as set forth on a list maintained by RIDOH at
https://covid.ri.gov/ must immediately self-quarantine for 10 days unless and until

that person obtains a negative COVID-19 test from a specimen taken after arrival
in Rhode Island. This quarantine requirement shall not apply to a person who has
a negative COVID-19 test from a specimen taken no more than seventy-two (72)
hours prior to arrival in Rhode Island. This paragraph shall not apply to public
health, public safety or healthcare workers. It shall also not apply to anyone
traveling for medical treatment, to attend a court hearing, to attend funeral or
memorial services, to obtain necessities such as groceries, gas or medication, to
drop off or pick up children from day care or to anyone who must work on their
boats.

Instructions for self-quarantine can be found at RIDOH’s website:
https://covid.ri.gov/covid-19-prevention/quarantine-and-isolation.

Coordinating Travel Restrictions with Neighboring State

7.

The criteria and the protocols set forth in paragraph 5 of this Executive Order have
been coordinated with Connecticut in order to ensure that Rhode Island and our
neighboring state are protected from community transmission of COVID-19 while
permitting free travel between the states.
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Further Limitations on Indoor and Outdoor Social Gatherings

Effective immediately, attendance at all indoor public and private social gatherings,
parties and celebrations shall be limited to members of a single household, in
accordance with RIDOH guidance. Notwithstanding these restrictions, indoor
catered events with licensed catering on site in a non-residential setting may have
up to 30 people, provided restaurant rules are applied, pre-event testing is
conducted, and a designated COVID Safety Officer is present at the event. Indoor
weddings with licensed catering on site in a non-residential setting may have up to
50 people, provided restaurant rules are applied, pre-event testing is conducted,
and a designated COVID Safety Officer is present at the event. More information
on pre-event testing and the COVID Safety Officer can be found at
https://ReopeningRI.com. The Department of Business Regulation (DBR) may
grant exceptions for previously booked, indoor weddings with licensed catering on

site. The lower attendance at such events, the lower the risk.

Effective immediately, attendance at all outdoor public and private social
gatherings, including holiday gatherings, parties and celebrations shall be limited to
members of a single household, in accordance with RIDOH guidance.
Notwithstanding these restrictions, outdoor catered events with licensed catering
on site in a non-residential setting may have up to 50 people, provided restaurant
rules are applied, pre-event testing is conducted, and a designated COVID Safety
Officer is present at the event. More information on pre-event testing and the
COVID Safety Officer can be found at https://ReopeningRI.com. The DBR may
grant exceptions for booked, outdoor weddings with licensed catering on site. The

lower attendance at such events, the lower the risk.

Limits on Indoor and Outdoor Venues of Assembly

10. Subject to strict adherence to social distancing, masking, screening, and sanitation

11.

protocols, indoor and outdoor venues of assembly, including convention centers,
concert halls, performance venues, and theaters may operate at up to 25% of
capacity, subject to Phase III guidelines, to a cap of 125 people.

Religious and faith-based organizations may conduct indoor in-person activities up
to 25% percent of worship space capacity, subject to a cap of 125 people and to the
Phase III guidelines for religious and faith-based organizations which are available
at https://ReopeningRI.com. Live streaming or broadcasting of religious services or




Executive Order 21-11
February 5, 2021
Page §

attendance through outdoor drive-in services are permitted and strongly
recommended, particularly for vulnerable populations, including those over 65
years of age. Outdoor religious services may operate at 25% of capacity to a cap of
125 people, with physical distancing and masking in effect.

12. All houses of worship must develop a COVID-19 Control Plan which shall be
available for inspection by the Task Force created by Executive Order 20-32
(“Enforcement Task Force”). A template for COVID-19 Control Plans can be
found at https://ReopeningRI.com.

13. Houses of worship where the facility’s space can accommodate significantly more
than 125 persons within the facility’s 25% capacity limit may submit a detailed
COVID-19 control plan to DBR to exceed the 125-person cap. Plan approval shall
be at the discretion of DBR, and any approved plan must be predicated on
preventing the spread of COVID-19 and must adequately address physical
distancing and ingress and egress.

Limits on Other Places of Public Interaction

14. Working from home remains the most important arrangement to reduce work-
related spread among employees and is required when possible. Additionally,
businesses are encouraged to postpone or cancel all non-essential, business-related
employee travel and refrain from scheduling future travel until the Stay at Home
Adpvisory is no longer in place.

Office-Based Business Limits — Continue Working Remotely to the Extent Possible

15. For office-based businesses, up to 33% of workers may work on site at the same
time but employees who are able to work remotely are strongly recommended to
do so. If an employee’s duties require an on-site presence on a daily or periodic
basis, the employer may permit the performance of such duties in person.

16. All office-based businesses must comply with RIDOH’s regulations, including, but
not limited to, requirements for cleaning, screening employees, wearing masks or
cloth face coverings, collecting contact tracing information, posting appropriate
signs and notices and other health and safety protocols. Office-based businesses
must review the guidance applicable to them available at https://ReopeningRI.com
and must also complete a template for COVID-19 Control Plans available on that

website.
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Retail Businesses

17.

18.

19.

20.

All retail businesses with a physical location in Rhode Island may continue to
conduct in-store pickup and limited browsing. All retail businesses may continue to
allow up to one customer per 100 square feet of store area open to customers
generally, except in the case of retail businesses with a store area greater than
30,000 square feet or multi-tenant retail complexes greater than 30,000 square
feet. Retail businesses with store areas greater than 30,000 square feet and multi-
tenant retail complexes greater than 30,000 square feet may allow up to one
person, inclusive of employees, per 150 square feet. Capacity limits must be posted
in clearly visible, large format signs at all entrances as well as on the retail
establishment’s website, if possible, and the retail establishment must actively
manage the number of patrons in the store area. Malls and other multi-tenant
retailers may remain open but common spaces, such as seating areas, must be closed
or roped off. Food court restaurants with their own dedicated seating area are
permitted to remain open, subject to applicable restaurant rules.

All retail establishments must have a plan, based on templates that will be made
available by DBR, on how they will manage these capacity limits, especially during
the busy holiday shopping season. Each retail establishment’s plan must be posted
at the main entrance and on the establishment’s website, if possible. Such plans
must also be available for review by representatives of the State.

Retail businesses and multi-tenant retail complexes or operations are required to
review the applicable guidance available at https://ReopeningRI.com, regulations set
forth by RIDOH, relevant executive orders and any other law applicable to retail
businesses. All retail businesses must also have a COVID-19 Control Plan which is
available for inspection by the Enforcement Task Force. A template for COVID-19
Control Plans can be found at https://ReopeningRI.com.

Stores and other places of business shall remind customers to wear a mask or cloth
face covering. In addition, retail businesses with store areas greater than 30,000
square feet and multi-tenant retail complexes greater than 30,000 square feet must
make masks available to customers.
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Continued and Modified Relief for Restaurants and Bars — Indoor and Outdoor Dining

21.

22.

23.

24.

Section 3-7-7 of the Rhode Island General Laws requiring a Class B licensee to sell
alcohol for consumption only on the premises shall continue to be suspended. A
Class B licensee is permitted to sell, with take-out food orders, up to 2 bottles of
wine, 144 ounces of beer or mixed beverages in original factory sealed containers,
and 144 ounces of draft beer or 72 ounces of mixed beverages containing not more
than 9 ounces of distilled spirits in growlers, bottles or other containers sealed in
such a way as to prevent re-opening without obvious evidence that the seal was
removed or broken, provided such sales shall be made in accordance with Section
1.4.10 of the Department of Business Regulation Liquor Control Administration
Regulations, 230-RICR-30-10-1 and any other DBR regulations. Any restaurant,
bar or establishment that offers beer, mixed beverages or wine pursuant to this
Executive Order must do so in accordance with the physical distancing protocols
and regulations set forth by RIDOH as well as this Executive Order and any of its
successors and related regulations.

Restaurants may continue limited indoor dining in addition to outdoor dining
(subject to applicable municipal approval), pick-up, delivery, and drive-through
operations subject to the requirements described in the Phase III Guidelines for
Restaurants available at https://ReopeningRI.com and the regulations set forth by
RIDOH. Licensed caterers must operate in accordance with these restaurant
regulations.

Service to standing customers is prohibited except for food pick-up following the
requirements for pick-up described in Phase III Guidelines for Restaurants and
regulations set forth by RIDOH. An establishment’s indoor dining capacity is
limited to 50% of an establishment’s regular seating capacity. Indoors,
establishments may seat up to two households per table, up to a maximum of eight
people. When taking a reservation or receiving customers without a reservation, an
establishment must ask whether each indoor table contains no more than the
members of two households. Establishments must prominently display the two-
household maximum rule for indoor dining.

Outdoor dining is still encouraged as long as the restaurant does not service more
than its normal operating capacity. Up to three households may be seated at any
outdoor table, up to a maximum of eight people, provided they wear masks when
not eating or drinking. When taking a reservation or receiving customers without a
reservation, an establishment must ask whether each outdoor table contains no
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26.

27.

more than the members of three households. Establishments must prominently
display the three-household maximum rule for outdoor dining. If an establishment
has established extra outdoor dining capacity, that additional outdoor capacity may
remain if the municipality approves such additional capacity (in accordance with
the municipality’s approval processes).

The provisions of Chapter 3-7 of the General Laws permitting the service of
alcoholic beverages by a licensee for on-premises consumption are hereby
suspended. At all times, a licensee must close its bar area, including but not limited
to the bar counter and seating at the bar counter, and ensure that the bar area is not
accessible to patrons. All such bars, restaurants and other establishments must rope
off the bar area and make seating at the bar counter unavailable to customers.
However, tables may be placed within six feet of any section of the bar counter
where personnel are not working. Customers must order, receive and consume
alcoholic beverages while seated at tables in accordance with Phase III guidelines
for restaurants at: https://reopeningri.com.

All other provisions of this Executive Order and RIDOH regulations applicable to
bars and restaurants shall remain in effect including, but not limited to, regulations
prohibiting service to standing customers and mingling or congregating.

All restaurants operating in Phase III must maintain and/or develop a COVID-19
Control Plan (a template for COVID-19 Control Plans is available at
https://ReopeningRI.com) which shall be available for inspection by the
Enforcement Task Force.

Recreational/Entertainment Businesses and Historical/Cultural Establishments

28.

29.

Subject to strict adherence to social distancing, masking, screening, and sanitation
protocols, indoor and outdoor recreational or entertainment businesses and
historical/cultural establishments, that are not venues of assembly, may conduct
operations at one person per 125 square feet and must require individuals to
remain 14 feet apart for activities involving singing or performances (e.g., karaoke),
or otherwise six feet apart, from individuals outside of their household.

Museums and historical sites may allow up to one visitor per 100 square feet of
museum area open to visitors generally.
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30.

31.

All indoor and outdoor recreational and entertainment establishments, that are not
venues of assembly, including historic/cultural establishments must develop a
COVID-19 Control Plan which shall be available for inspection by the Enforcement
Task Force. A template for COVID-19 Control Plans can be found at
https://ReopeningRI.com.

Nightclub operations must remain closed.

Personal Services Businesses

32:

33.

34.

35.

Gyms,

36.

Personal services businesses and operations, including, but not limited to, hair
salons and barbershops, nail salons, tattoo parlors, tanning parlors, estheticians, and
massage therapists may open subject to all of the requirements of their professional
or facility licensing, the requirements of the Phase III guidelines for personal
services at https://ReopeningRI.com and regulations set forth by RIDOH. Such
personal service businesses may allow up to one customer per 100 square feet.

Particular personal services where masks or cloth face coverings cannot be worn
continuously in accordance with this and other executive orders by both customers
and professionals, such as facials, make-up applications, facial hair removal, face

piercings and face tattoos shall only operate as directed in regulations to be
promulgated by RIDOH.

Given the need to reduce the risk to clients, employees and the community from
the operation of close contact businesses, the regulations set forth by RIDOH in
effect for these businesses must be closely followed. If, upon inspection by the
Enforcement Task Force, any business owner or professional is found in violation
of these regulations, the business may be immediately closed.

All personal services businesses must develop a COVID-19 Control Plan which shall
be available for inspection by the Enforcement Task Force. A template for COVID-
19 Control Plans can be found at https://ReopeningRI.com.

Fitness Centers and Small Group Fitness Classes

Gyms and fitness centers may continue operations at one person per 125 square
feet with individuals remaining six feet apart indoors and six feet apart outdoors,
subject to Phase III guidance. Under certain conditions, plexiglass or equivalent
barriers, increased ventilation, or on-site testing of customers may be used to
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reduce spacing between individuals or reduce the one person per 125 square feet
capacity limit, with DBR pre-approval. Indoor and outdoor group classes are
permitted, provided appropriate spacing and that no person may come in physical
contact with another person. One-on-one or personal training is permitted. In
indoor and outdoor gym and fitness centers, masks must be worn at all times in
accordance with RIDOH regulations.

37. All gyms and fitness centers must develop a COVID-19 Control Plan which shall be
available for inspection by the Enforcement Task Force. If exceptions to capacity
are requested, such plan must include increased ventilation or on-site testing, if
applicable, or other such requirements as may be specified by DBR. A template for
COVID-19 Control Plans can be found at https://ReopeningRI.com.

Indoor Sports Facilities

38. All indoor sporting facilities, such as indoor ice rinks and basketball courts, may
operate at one person per 125 square feet. This paragraph does not apply to the
use of these facilities by professional or intercollegiate athletic programs.

Restricting Sports Competitions and Practices

39. Consistent with guidance from RIDOH, moderate and lower risk sports may
resume practices, competitions, scrimmages and games. Competitions, games and
scrimmages of higher risk sports, such as wrestling and boxing, shall be prohibited;
practices of higher risk sports may resume. Examples of higher, moderate and
lower risk sports may be found at: https://reopeningri.com/wp-
content/uploads/2021/01/Sports-Risk-Slide_2021.pdf. This paragraph does not
apply to activities of professional or intercollegiate athletic programs.

Restricting Interstate Sporting Activities

40. All sports teams and groups are prohibited from participating in tournaments,
matches, games, competitions, practices, etc. with out-of-state teams or sporting
groups, except for professional and intercollegiate athletic programs.
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Restricting Spectators from Attending Sporting Events or Practices

41. Spectators are prohibited from attending sporting events or practices for athletes
over the age of 18, with the exception of certain approved intercollegiate athletic
events for which, for each athlete, up to six individuals from a single household
may attend. For sporting events or practices with athletes under the age of 18, no
more than two parents or guardians of the athlete and the athlete’s siblings may be
present.

All State Parks and Beaches Remain Open
42. All state parks and beaches shall remain open subject to limits on use, parking,

capacity and other restrictions. Those requirements and restrictions are available at
www.riparks.com/covid19.

Child-Care Services to Continue in Small, Stable Groups

43. Child-care services shall continue in small, stable groups pursuant to emergency
regulations promulgated by the Rhode Island Department of Human Services.

Elective Medical Procedures and Medical Services to Continue

44, Elective medical procedures and other medical services shall continue pursuant to
plans submitted by healthcare providers and approved by RIDOH.

Public Health Regulations
45. RIDOH shall continue to promulgate emergency regulations on the implementation
of this Executive Order. The regulations shall include enforcement provisions,
including the imposition of civil fines sufficient to ensure compliance.
46. The Director of RIDOH or her designees are hereby authorized to assess civil
penalties for violation of this Executive Order. Such civil penalties shall be in
addition to any other penalties authorized by law.

Enforcement Task Force to Continue its Education, Inspection and Enforcement Mandate

47. The Enforcement Task Force shall continue its work to educate businesses,
governmental entities and other establishments on safely maintaining and re-
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opening operations in Phase III. Enforcement Task Force inspectors shall continue
to conduct inspections of businesses, governmental establishments and other
establishments as well as to enforce the emergency regulations promulgated by
RIDOH. The Enforcement Task Force, through RIDOH, shall issue compliance
orders under Chapter 1 of Title 23.

48. The DBR shall make determinations regarding the ways in which a business,
organization, or operation (or a portion of such business, operation or
organization) is to be categorized within the provisions of this Executive Order or
within other state guidance documents. In doing so, DBR may determine the
executive order and guidance provisions under which a business or organization is
to operate or by which it is to be guided.

This Executive Order supersedes Executive Order 21-09. It shall take effect
immediately and shall remain in full force and effect through March 6, 2021 unless
renewed, modified, or terminated by a subsequent Executive Order.

So Ordered,

Gina M. Raimondo
Governor






