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State of Rhode Island
Daniel J. McKee
Governor
EXECUTIVE ORDER
21-105
October 26, 2021

AMENDED QUARANTINE AND ISOLATION ORDER

WHEREAS, on March 9, 2020, Executive Order 20-02 was issued declaring a state
of emergency due to the dangers to health and life posed by COVID-19, and that Order
has been extended through at least October 2, 2021;

WHEREAS, on August 19, 2021, I issued Executive Order 21-86 declaring a
disaster emergency for new COVID-19 variants and that Order has been extended through
at least November 13, 2021;

WHEREAS, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (“CDC?™) has stated
that COVID-19 symptoms may appear as many as fourteen (14) days after exposure;

WHEREAS, the Director of the CDC has confirmed that a significant number of
individuals infected with COVID-19 do not show symptoms;

WHEREAS, COVID-19 is contagious and persons who are asymptomatic can
spread the virus;
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WHEREAS, the CDC has provided guidance on a Test to Stay program that enables
students and staff identified as close contacts and subject to school COVID-19 exposure to
voluntarily participate in a rapid antigen testing program, which would permit those who
test negative for COVID-19 to remain at school (“Test-to-Stay Program™) and continue to
receive the benefits of in-person learning relating to psychosocial development as well as
emotional and physical wellbeing; and

WHEREAS, the CDC has provided acceptable alternatives to shorten quarantine
based on local circumstances and resources.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, DANIEL J. MCKEE, by virtue of the authority vested in
me as Governor of the State of Rhode Island, pursuant to Article IX of the Rhode Island
Constitution and the Rhode Island General Laws, including, but not limited to, Title 30,
Chapter 15, and Title 23, Chapter 8, do hereby order and direct the following:

1.  Any person who has been clinically diagnosed with COVID-19 by a licensed
health care practitioner by assessment of symptoms or by laboratory testing
must immediately self-isolate! in accordance with Rhode Island Department of
Health (RIDOH) guidance:
https://health.ri.gov/publications/guidance/COVID-19-Quarantine-and-

Isolation-Guidance-by-Population.pdf (“COVID-19 Quarantine and Isolation
Guidance by Population”).

2. Except as provided in paragraph 4, below, any fully vaccinated® person (a)
who has been in known close contact (within 6 feet for more than 15 minutes
within a 24-hour period) with a person who has been clinically diagnosed with
COVID-19 by a licensed health care practitioner by assessment of symptoms
or by laboratory testing or (b) who has been contacted by RIDOH to inform
them that they were a close contact with a confirmed positive case must get
tested 5-7 days after the date of exposure and wear a mask in public indoor
settings for 14 days or until he or she receives a negative test result. All fully
vaccinated individuals who fall within category (a) or (b) of this paragraph

! Isolation separates sick people with a contagious disease from people who are not sick.

2 “Fully vaccinated” means a person received the final dose of an approved COVID-19 vaccination
series or the only dose of an approved one-dose COVID-19 vaccine at least 14 days prior to the
last date of close contact.
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must self-monitor for symptoms of COVID-19 for 14 days following close
contact.

3. Any person who is not fully vaccinated and falls within category (a) or (b) in
paragraph 2 of this Order (“non-fully vaccinated close contact”) must get
tested immediately after being identified as a close contact and, if negative, get
tested again 5-7 days after last exposure or immediately if symptoms develop
during quarantine’. All non-fully vaccinated close contacts must self-monitor
for symptoms of COVID-19 for 14 days following close contact. All non-fully
vaccinated close contacts must immediately self-quarantine for 10 days
following the close contact unless one of the following exemptions applies:

a. the person (i) is not living in an assisted living facility or a nursing home
and (ii) obtains a negative COVID-19 test result from a specimen taken
on day 5 or later following the last date of close contact (day 0) and self-
quarantines through day 7 or later following the close contact; or

b.  the person (i) was previously diagnosed with COVID-19, (ii) had
COVID-19 symptoms, the onset of which occurred no more than 90
days prior to the last date of close contact, (iii) completed the isolation
requirement in accordance with this Order, and (iv) is asymptomatic; or

c.  the person (i) was tested positive for COVID-19 from a specimen taken
no more than 90 days prior to the last date of close contact, (ii) had no
COVID-19 symptom previously, (iii) completed the isolation
requirement in accordance with this Order, and (iv) is asymptomatic; or

d. (i) the person is a pre K-12 student, (ii) the infected person with whom
the person was in close contact is also a pre K-12 student, (iii) the close
contact occurred inside a pre K-12 classroom or structured outdoor pre
K-12 setting where mask use can be observed (i.e., holding class outdoors
with educator supervision), (iv) both students wore face masks at all
times while they were in close contact; and (v) the students were at least
3 feet apart from each other at all times when they were in close contact;
or

3 Quarantine separates and restricts the movement of people who were exposed to a contagious
disease to see if they become sick.
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e.  the person is a pre K-12 student or staff member and the exposure
occurred during outdoor recess at a pre K-12 school; or

f.  the exposure occurred on a pre K-12 school bus where windows were
open, all persons on the bus wore face masks and there was at least one
other adult in addition to the driver present to ensure compliance with
mask usage and open windows; or

g. (i) the person is a student or staff at a Rhode Island school, (ii) such
school has entered into an agreement with RIDOH to implement a Test-
to-Stay Program, and (iii) such student or staff consents to the
participation in, and meets the requirements of, the Test-to-Stay
Program; or

h.  during critical staffing shortages, as determined by RIDOH, RIDOH may
exempt some categories of workers while they are at work or traveling to
or from work such as: staff at healthcare facilities, nursing home
facilities, assisted living facilities, public health sector, public safety
sector, social service providers, election work, homeless shelters, group
homes, correctional facilities, and detention centers, provided that these
workers follow RIDOH guidance for COVID-19 Quarantine and
Isolation Guidance by Population. When not at work, these workers
must self-quarantine.

Any hospitalized person, or person living in a congregate care setting, whether
or not fully vaccinated, (a) who has been in known close contact (within 6 feet
for more than 15 minutes within a 24-hour period) with a person who has
been clinically diagnosed with COVID-19 by a licensed health care
practitioner by assessment of symptoms or by laboratory testing or (b) who
has been contacted by RIDOH to inform them that they were a close contact
with a confirmed positive case must self-monitor for symptoms of COVID-19
and immediately self-quarantine for 14 days following that contact. Such
person, whether or not fully vaccinated, shall get tested immediately after
being identified as a close contact and, if negative, get tested again 5-7 days
after last exposure or immediately if symptoms develop during quarantine.
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5. Instructions for self-isolation and self-quarantine and a description of COVID-
19 symptoms can be found at the RIDOH website:
https://health.ri.gov/diseases/ncov2019/

6. I hereby authorize and direct the Director of RIDOH to take any action and
make and enforce any rules and regulations necessary to implement this
Order.

7. The Director of RIDOH is further authorized to assess civil penalties, and
enact rules and regulations in furtherance of such penalties, for violation of
this Executive Order. Such civil penalties shall be in addition to any other
penalties authorized by law.

This Order, superseding Executive Order 21-100, shall take effect on October 27,
2021 and remain in full force and effect through November 25, 2021 unless renewed,
modified or terminated by a subsequent Executive Order.

Ordered

Daniel J. McKee
Governor





